The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)

The ACMA is responsible for the regulation of:

broadcasting, the internet, radiocommunications, telecommunications

The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) is a statutory authority within the federal government portfolio of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy.

The above-mentioned portfolio is the responsibility of Senator Stephen Conroy [November 1, 2012] email:

ACMA’s members: Mr Chris Chapman, chairman. Seven members (6 males and 1 female), appointed for five-year terms. Biographies. No contact details; contact via email to Authority secretariat from the web site. [September 24, 2012]

The website has an extensive range of menus, including: How to complain about media; How to complain about ACMA.

Complaints should be made to the broadcaster first. If the complaint is not satisfactorily dealt with or settled it can be referred to ACMA. The regulator handles complaints against ALL radio and television and the internet. TV includes the ABC, SBS, commercial tv and pay tv. Complaints front page